Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone I am new to this website. My issue with social anxiety is that I have problems interacting with people in small groups. I have a history of chronic unemployment although I graduated with a B.A. degree four years ago. I want to change my life because I am unhappy. I went to see a psychiatrist last month he says I am not depressed and he does not believe I should be on anti depressants.

I thought that if I was on anti depressants that the medication would numb the pain I was feeling and that I could become oblivious to my situation. I thought anti depressants would make my life a little bit easier.

I asked my doctor for a referral in January because I was wondering if I am crazy or mentally ill. In January 2009 I started a new job I was excited about it the first day was very good. However, the second day I became anxious and self conscious. During the morning break there were these straight guys sitting at another table talking about sports.

I don't know anything about the NBA. I was sitting at another table playing with my cell phone. I know when I look back on the incident that the heterosexual men were not homophobic or anything. I was irrational and I became extremely nervous.

After the morning break I walked by the straight guys and went back to the training room. I was able to hang in until my lunch break. I called a distress phone number during my lunch break but the line was busy. I am so disappointed in myself because I messed up once again.

The psychiatrist also said he feels I am motivated to change my life and that my problems are situational. Since I am a LGBT person the psychiatrist recommended that I contact a gay counselling service in my area. I did contact the LGBT counselling service and was informed I have to wait eight weeks.