Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I graduated high school a few months ago, so yay I guess, however now I am left with a difficult decision. I don't know whether or not I want to go to college. Well actually I really really really really want too, I want to use it as an oppertunity to further overcome my SA. I want to be able to tell people who ask me what I do or how I'm doing, something other than, I sit in my room and watch TV until I go to work, then I go to sleep. The problem is however, is that I keep getting negative thoughts like these, I'm too small, I don't look like a college student, I won't do well, I cant juggle both work and college, everyone will think I'm wierd, to name just a few. I'm thinking now, mabey I should wait until next year. I know what I want to study, I'm just completely freaked out over the whole idea.
Anyone have any advice? Is there anyone in the same situation?

·
Banned
2,768 Posts
i was.college is something different, so naturally, you'll be apprehensive about going into an unfamiliar situation. but, just like high school, you get used to it.

you know when you're in grade school and the teachers make high school sound like some big different world? then you get there and it's not that different. Pretty much the same as college except you have to do more things yourself like time management.

not saying it's a breeze in terms of SA, but it was pretty easy for me to 'not exist' and just blend in with everyone else. you'll probably feel out of place for a week or 2, but then it becomes a daily thing just like high school was

and my situation doesnt involve living on campus since i go to college near my house. im sure living in a dorm would make things a lot more difficult in terms of SA

·
Banned
115 Posts
College is a hell of a lot easier on the social level than high school is. In college everyone does there own thing and you can be anonymous if you want to.