Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I'm new to this so I'd be very grateful for any support or feedback. I'll start off by saying a bit about myself. I'm 20 years old and in my last year at university. Like a lot of people I have not been official diagnosed with SA but I've researched it and I can relate to a lot of the symptoms and to what other members of this site have said about their experiences.
All throughout my school years (up until I was 16) I was always thought of as a funny, outgoing and intelligent guy. I had huge amounts of confidence and would willingly speak to anyone and everyone with genuine enthusiasm. I enjoyed meeting new people and would be invited to so many social gatherings and parties that I'd often have to turn people down! I was also very mature for my age and could have conversations with adults much older than me. However, from when I left school I noticed my personality began to change negatively and I started to develop symptoms that correlate with a number of different mental disorders. I'd often find that I'd avoid going out to social events and often just felt like I couldn't be bothered to see anyone. I also began to develop a stutter (if anyone else has experienced this please let me know of your experiences of this!). This meant that whenever I met new