Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody,

I'm a musician.... but I have such a hard time playing in front of people. I would like nothing more than to one day be able to play live for people. I get so anxious!! I forget words, my fingers tremble when I try and play guitar. And, the anticipatory anxiety is awful. I'm a wreck for days before performances. The automatic negative thoughts never stop and it just leads me to feeling depressed and hopeless. It sucks!! Any help or leads would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

· Registered
3,625 Posts
First gotta say I love your user name, Born To Run is one of my favorite albums of all time. The Boss rocks!

My suggestion might sound weird suggestion but you should go to a karaoke bar, drink a couple of beers and sing born to run in front of drunk people. I say this to make you realize unless you terribly suck, it isn't so bad! Plus Born To Run is a surefire song to get a few drunk people clapping!

Then start playing guitar for a few people in intimate settings to build your confidence up. There's nothing more beautiful to gather around someone playing a guitar and hearing what comes from their soul. Gotta crawl before you can walk.

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks scaredtolive... I've had a little success with beta blockers... as far as playing, but mentally the negative thoughts still exist and makes me depressed and upset. The anticipatory anxiety is just as bad... if not worse.. than the actual anxiety during a performance.

· Registered
659 Posts
thanks scaredtolive... I've had a little success with beta blockers... as far as playing, but mentally the negative thoughts still exist and makes me depressed and upset. The anticipatory anxiety is just as bad... if not worse.. than the actual anxiety during a performance.