Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
522 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is just my personal experience, and there are certainly some confounding variables thrown in, but I think it's important to share this:

I've been feeling more emotionally healthy in the last several months than I can ever remember feeling. Even as a kid, I had a lot of emotional ups and downs, and I was later diagnosed repeatedly as having depression. No diagnosis on this, but in retrospect I'm pretty sure that when I wasn't depressed, I was still dysthymic, because I can tell you I never felt very happy for very long. I've generally been pretty fit since I was a kid, but even in 2009-2010 when I started training harder than ever before I still alternated between mild unhappiness and severe depression.

In March of this year, I began seeing a nutritionist, and began to change my diet. More proteins, less carbs and especially less simple carbs, more nutrient-rich foods, and a multivitamin as well as a vitamin D supplement. Changes were almost immediate. My energy levels increased and my mood stabilized. I had been working on some CBT-like challenges to my negative thoughts since the fall, but suddenly I saw a real breakthrough in my emotional health. I truly believe that the mood stabilization caused by reducing blood sugar spikes and getting adequate nutrition is what allowed me to progress emotionally. It is tremendously hard to challenge habitual negative thoughts while also battling mood spikes and low energy due to diet.