As for why accounts can't be deleted, AFAIK it has always been like that on this site and it's never going to change, sorry. It would remove too much useful content from the forum search system anyway, if not the actual posts maybe. Also, just as user requested bans were discontinued years ago because too many users kept wanting to come back, deleting accounts would perhaps create even more trouble/confusion etc, if they later wanted to come back.Also, if you get banned, can people still look at your post history ?
Though having said that, ONLY if you are in an EU country, maybe you could plead your case for account deletion because of the GDPR privacy law. You'd have to PM Helena to ask an admin about it.
As for your post history being viewable when banned, it depends. If you are banned through Ban and Clean (mostly used for spammers), then only mods can see your posts, because they are all automatically deleted. If the ban is done manually through the moderator control panel, then anyone can see your post history (except for any deleted posts, of course). Though it may be slightly more difficult to find your profile, because banned users don't show up in the members' list.
If we deleted accounts or banned people on request, others would want their accounts deleted or banned as well, which can create too much work for the mods and/or remove too much content from the forum. If you are spending too much time here, which is the reason why most people want to be banned, you can change your password to something random and then log out.Why can't you delete accounts and when will that change?
When user requested bans were still allowed, some members would change their mind after the ban and then create new accounts. Only one account is allowed per person. There are other good reasons why accounts can't be deleted or banned by request, and it won't be changed.
When an account is less than 300 days old and the member was a troll, spammer or posted a lot of inappropriate content that otherwise would need to be deleted, we use a feature called Ban and Clean. This deletes all posts, visitor messages and private messages by that member and bans their IP address so they can't return with a new account. When this happens, the account isn't deleted, but you won't be able to see their posts anymore. Their post count will return to 0 and they will have "Banned" beneath their username instead of the usual "Permanently Banned" or "Temporarily Banned." If they created useful or popular threads, sometimes those will be undeleted, so you will still be able to see them and anything else the mods decide to undelete.Also, if you get banned, can people still look at your post history?
I didn't word my post about post removal properly. When posts are deleted on request, we prefer to only delete threads if they're personal and not useful to other people. If a thread has received a lot of replies, that will be left alone, too. It wouldn't be fair to delete those threads because then other people would lose what they posted in them and some content in the thread might be useful or valuable to other members.
Mass deleting posts is very time consuming, and we don't do that. It can disrupt threads and remove other people's posts. The only time it might be okay is if the post count is very low (usually less than 10 posts), but we would still rather not do that unless the posts contained your personal information which you regret posting. The same as for user requested bans, if we delete all of one member's posts, others will want the same done for them. When you join any forum, you agree that the content you post will belong to the forum and that you will take responsibility for what you post.
It's a good idea not to post anything you think you would want removed later. Once you reach 50 posts, you will unlock a feature where you can edit or delete your own posts (not threads).
Of course Go ahead and PM me the name you'd like to change it to or just reply in this thread and I'll go ahead and make the change.Apparently i can't create a new account so can I get a username change? Its been a few years since ive been on here, id like a new username pls.
This thread in the new hobbies and interests is too old to post to.
Welcome back. Once a message has been deleted, it can't be recovered, but a copy of any of the messages that you sent should still be in your "Sent" folder, which you would need to be using the desktop version of the forum to see.Hi!
When the site was updated a while ago, back in 2008, I realized that my messages were changed adn that I could only see my replies to people as sent to myself. Is there any way to recover who I sent messages to in the mid-2000s timeframe? I would love to reconnect with someone I used to know through this site but completely forget their contact info and username! Please please help me discover this person I lost connection with!