Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2,401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am 21 and I don't know how to drive-

I already took my mandatory driving education class 3 years ago which included 6hours of actual driving experience with a driving teacher and I barely passed it-I drove so slowly-I felt like I was going at a good speed but he kept on complaining about how slow I was and the times that he forced me to speed up I realized that I was a slow driver-but it just does not feel natural to me to drive at that speed even though that is a normal speed-oh yeah and i also sucked at doing turns-even the ones where all i'm doing is turning right, and i also sucked at parking-my mom's gonna give me some lessons, and i also sucked at everything else-

my biggest problem is brakes!!!!! yeah i drove around roads and **** for my driving class but everytime i hit a red light behind a car i seemed to brake too hard-like i pressed the brake and me and the teacher would get jerked or i would press the brake late, or too soon-do i just hit it when i need to stop-do i slowly press it and let the car roll and that will make the car stop eventually or do i slowly press it, then hit it?

I know inside that I can drive, that this fear of driving is in my head(despite the fact that driving does have its dangers), so what I'm looking for is one of you to tell me, yes I used to be deathly afraid of driving, but when i actually did learn, I realized that I was a great driver or something along those lines

edit: I also suck at driving in residential areas where all the cars are parked on the street-I seriously almost hit like 3 cars when I was driving with my mom down a street with cars parked on the right and left-the cars feel like they're right next to the car no matter what i do