Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1,118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
From when i was 13-15, I moved to a new school so my social anxiety was killing me. No friends at school, too anxious, and i really didn't like my life. however, playing an mmorpg actually helped me escape from reality and it was basically my second life. It prevented me from real life depression and helped me cope/survive without any real life friends from SA.

I moved again at age 15 and I stopped playing the mmorpg. I fell into depression and i can't seem to play mmorpgs anymore - i just can't concentrate and get into them. basically, i think mmorpgs saved my 2 years of lonely life..

If only i could get myself addicted again.. maybe i could stop taking prozac.. ;P

·
Registered
230 Posts
I started playing EverQuest when I was 14 or so, then moved to World of Warcraft after I got into the closed beta, all in all 9-10 years of playing MMOs. It is easily one of the biggest mistakes I could have made in terms of dealing with my SA. It improved my depression a lot at the cost of skyrocketting the amount anxiety I felt.

The reason it improved my depression was because it essentially became a substitute for real social interraction. I was much more confident and sociable online and felt better because I was free from most of my anxiety. Unfortunately aside from the people I played games with online, I lost most of my friends. The few that I still knew in real life eventually moved away and stopped playing as they went to college. All this while my anxiety snowballed downhill into full on agoraphobia. I had no motivation to go out and meet new people and even worse, I was essentially justifying it to myself because I still had friends online. I worked online so for a long period of time I barely even left the house.