Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm 27 and I had SA/shyness for most of highschool and college. I didn't go out, didn't date, didn't really have a "normal" experience. I fell into the trap of worrying what everyone thought about me, worrying about what I'll tell a girl when she finds out I have no experience. Over analzying everything and under living.

Like alot of you, my childhood was actually pretty normal. I went to birthday parties, I had friends over to my house. When I was 9 or 10, one of my friends asked if I had a gf yet. My childhood wasn't perfect, but it felt alot more normal than my highschool years.

I think the biggest problem for those with SA/shyness is the transition period between childhood and being a young adult. It's extremely, extremely, EXTREMELY important for your self esteem, your confidence and the direction of your life. My guess is that most of you had a tough transition period. And then it carries over into your teens and 20's.

I've thought about it alot, and I've been able to pinpoint exactly where things went wrong. I didn't latch onto a really great peer group after my childhood. I wanted a peer group that was smart, funny, kind, talented, and just a bunch of nice people. Otherwise, I'd rather be on my own.

In highschool, I saw a world that was glass half empty. I had little in common with the people I hung out with and I fell into this trap of the "shy guy that doesn't go out." Then it got even worst.

Something that I've realized is that no matter how down and depressed you get, the world is still a beautiful place. The weather can still be nice. Kids keep laughing and playing in the front yard. There's hobbies and activities. The world doesn't stop. The world is always bigger than your problems.

I could imagine a childhood friend seeing me when I was 20, and ask..."what the he** are you doing man?" What happened to the old you?"