Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I am new here so I will give a quick intro. I am 26, I have a social anxiety. I used to get panic attacks a few years ago but haven't really experienced them as of lately. So I am really scared. Wait! No, terrified. I start a new job tomorrow. It's not my first job, I have actually had a stable work history. But one I was a manager at a food business for 5 years, I also work as a public safety officer which I plan to drop if this job goes well. This job is in an office environment. I am not used to this. Also, I am not used to being the new person. The only time I have been a new person is when I was with 80 other new people. I can get so frustrated because when I try to talk about how I feel nervous and am overloy worried people don't see it as a big deal. It is a big deal. What if these people I am working with don't like me? I mean, I tend to be very quiet. What if I say or do something stupid..what if I look stupid?? I am used to wearing uniforms and such so what if I walk in there with my outfit looking totally hideous. What if I can't absorb anything I am being taught in training. What if I don't make it? What if sometime thru-out the day I start getting light headed and my hands start sweating. What if I get taken back to that day of when I experienced a full blown panic attack. I don't know. I am just frustrated. I don't know how I became like this.. it has been def. holding me back in life. And the worst part of having social anxiety..my seven year old son misses out on certain things because I am not comfortable taking him out to places by myself. EEEK. I am sorry for the book and errors, everything just came out at once, I honeslty did not have time to organize my thoughts. lol

·
Registered
153 Posts
You're being irrationally negative. Too many hypotheticals. Too much defeatism.