Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Social Virgin
235 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Background:

So here's the deal. I'm in my 4th year at my community college and I have no idea what I want to do for a living, but what I do know is that I want to transfer as soon as possible and catch up to everyone else. (On average, most people around me transfer from a community college at 19 or 20 and finish their Bachelor's at 21 or 22 while I'm 21 and I still haven't transferred yet.)

I half-***ed choosing my major and I picked Computer Science because it's a STEM field (job security and good pay) and it seemed to be the most practical out of all the STEM fields for me. I applied to a couple of universities last November and the thing is, I have a 4.0 GPA but I'm missing a bunch of courses (ranging from 3 to 6) for my major.

Dilemma:

I have no idea what my chances are of getting into one of those universities (they're all UCs), especially since Computer Science is an impacted major. I signed up for 4 STEM classes this current Spring semester and after a month into the semester, it became clear that the workload (and depression and SA) was too much for me. I spent a month and a half sacrificing study time for 3 of my STEM classes to focus on Linear Algebra.

I failed my first exam for Linear Algebra and got 43%, which made me extremely unlikely to get an A in the class. I decided to drop the class because of the huge amount of work. But the problem was, I wasted so much time doing homework and stuff for that class. I was behind in all my other classes. So, I've been in catch-up mode for most of the semester.

Then I got an F on my Physics exam and each exam in that class is worth a chunk of my grade. It should've been an easy class but I barely had any time to study. I'd need to get a perfect score on everything from now on in order to get an 88% in the class and hope that my professor would curve my grade.