Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
oh the horror!
467 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just can't imagine getting hired at any job. Most jobs if not all require at least some socializing. Since I'm not good with people at all and have no social skills, I mean, how am I gonna manage working? Anywhere?? Its not that I have terrible social anxiety. I just never know what to say. Also all jobs require interviews and I'm afraid that I will have nothing good or important to say, nothing to contribute to the company or whatever.

·
Registered
60 Posts
You're so young and it's a very good sign that you say you don't really have terrible social anxiety. I think everybody hates interviews - just yuck. One tactic might be to choose a career where there's a strong need - and one where you get licensed or work with a school that will help you find a job. Is there anything in the health field that you think you might enjoy? Some jobs require less socializing than others - such as laboratory technician or medical records (where you type up doctors' notes.)

Well, I don't know all the options but jobs in health care will continue to increase, due to the aging of the population. Or any kind of nursing - I've had lots of nurses before who didn't really make a lot of conversation - just went about their business, while just being quietly polite. Just an idea - but it's way too early to worry too much! Many people improve their people skills just with getting older and try to not worry too much - it's ok to be a quiet person - it's actually a relief for many people to have quiet people around so they can do most of the talking :)

And jobs where there's a shortage of people applying - there would be less pressure and competition and so the interview process would probably just be a formality.

·
Banned
38,431 Posts
I have absolutely no fear in this area. The unknown causes fear and I damn well know I'm never going to be able to work at anything.