Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time really talking to anyone about this in detail... I feel like I can't talk to family because they'll think it's all in my head and that it's like flipping a light switch on/off. I don't have many close friends. My husband knows the gist because he lives with me (obviously).

So... I had my first child in the Summer of 2012. Before this, I was a happy go lucky person, a party girl, and didn't give a rat's behind about what anything or anybody had to say/think about me. After becoming pregnant, I think the OCD started. I obsessed over doing everything I could to make sure my baby was healthy because 9 months prior, I had had a miscarriage at 10 weeks. After having my child, I slowly started to have more odd tendencies I never had before. I brought it up with my Dr. at my postpartum follow up and they said it's just new mom anxiety and gave me depression meds. I didn't take them more than once because they made me pass out asleep while caring for my newborn alone.

Anyway, as time goes on, I see my GP about some of these odd tendencies. He diagnosed me (as best as a GP can anyway) with OCD and anxiety and gave me a referral to a therapist. I went once and never went again. I felt the lady was condescending and wasn't really interested in what I had to say. Plus it was an hour drive and there are no closer therapists near me that I can afford. The last one, I was 2 days away from my appointment when the receptionist calls me and tells me my copay is $350.00 so I canceled.