Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
A Person
6,078 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so basically i'm an office administrator. I come to work. sit down for 9 hours and do some boring ****e on a spreadsheet and leave.

During my stay at work i don't really talk to anyone. i might say hi and agree to whatever my bosses say but that's about it. it sounds like a dream. it really isn't.

everyone in my office is so quiet and doesn't talk. it's a far cry from my last office where office banter was ripe and encouraged.

everyone in my office is old with kids, i have nothing to relate to them, i have nothing to say to them at all. i've been working there for 2 months and the people i sit next with i barely know their names. I haven't really said anything to them and I'm with them 37 hours out of the week.

it's depressing. i spend more time with these people than my bloody family.

*sigh*

·
Registered
35 Posts
but for some people wouldnt this be the ideal job? Sometimes office banter can make someone with SA feel uneasy, especially if that person can't contribute / fit in like everyone else can?

My job is the opposite. It requires constant communication with all sorts of people (I'm a Business Analyst), and I'm constantly stressed about my performance. :(

·
A Person
6,078 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
at my last job i liked the office banter as i'm quite a jokey person anyway so it felt like i was part of the gang (i never feel like that)

·
Registered
120 Posts
I did that in my previous job then my boss criticized me for being too serious and never smile and my coworker won't leave me alone. I wish my coworker was like yours.

·
Registered
12 Posts