Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It might seem strange that I do not fear public speaking to a ridiculous extent like I fear other forms of social interacting, but that is my case. This is fortunate for me as I hope to someday go to law school and become a lawyer (I know, a lot of lawyers don't even need to appear in court).

I think the reason I do not fear public speaking to the extent that a "normal" person does is because every second of my life feels like I'm on stage. When I'm walking down the street, when I'm ordering food at a deli, whenever I'm doing anything ORDINARY it feels like all eyes are on me. So when it comes to public speaking, its not that I thoroughly enjoy it or anything, but I'm so used to the "all eyes on me" feeling that I can perform pretty well. Its like I have 19 years of public speaking experience (I'm age 19 now).

Does anyone else notice this? I just wanted to point it out because its one thing SA has done to give me an advantage over a non-SA sufferer.

·
Registered
199 Posts
I think you guys are lucky. I think if I would be able to speak publicly I would be pretty satisfied with my life. I suffer from both performance anxiety and one on one as well. But if I had to choose, I'd go with the ability to speak publicly. I could and probably should re-think this though. Be careful for what you wish for, right?

·
Registered
311 Posts
Does giving a speech or presentation in class count as public speaking? I haven't done it outside of a class assignment, but I usually didn't feel any more than a normal amount of nervousness when speaking in front of a class. I think it's because I'm too focused on what I'm presenting and it's less personal than actually interacting with someone.

It's really odd, the one time that people ARE actually focused on me and probably judging me, I'm not very worried about it. My mind is weird.

·
Registered
4,454 Posts