Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Lost in New Babylon
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Of course, I'm not sure if that's what I'm really even looking for. Hopefully that will become apparent after writing a bit. Alright, so I've never had anything approaching a real relationship. I've had a handful of stalkers, several dates with one girl that didn't go anywhere, and something with a girl I liked that definitely wasn't a romance but was too strong on her end to be a friendship. I'd hoped that I'd find someone at college, but I'm a sophomore now and I still have no prospects. I've got a job, get good grades, have decent looks, miraculously managed to find a nice bunch of friends here, and generally consider myself be to an interesting if eccentric person. However, I've had absolutely no luck meeting a girl I find attractive. Part of that is SA of course (even though I'm in a lot of extracurricular activities I haven't met any new people this year), and the rest I can attribute to wanting a quality girl instead of just someone to have "happy fun times" with as my roommate would put it, but I just can't get over the fact that I'm alone. I've made so much progress since high school, yet I can't gain any headway here. It's gotten to the point that seeing couples holding hands will send me into a dark mood, although I am careful to always stay cheerful around other people. What do you do in this situation?