Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
banana enthusiast
7,067 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
They seem like a completely different species to me. Instead of seeing them as regular people who are trying to achieve more or less the same objectives in life as I am, I always have a subconscious feeling that they have some secret purpose or objective that is too sophisticated for my puny brain to comprehend. I don't know if this makes any sense, but I guess it is due to never having had any female friends, so I have no experiences to counter the subtle feeling that they are somehow fundamentally different from me. I feel like they will be offended and shatter into a million pieces if I talk to them without extreme self-censorship.

I bring this up now because I am fed up with constantly having awkward moments around girls, especially recently. The moment one walks into a room, I get awestruck as if a truck has hit me, even if I'm not attracted to her, and I'm unable to talk or even look at her, unless she asks me something directly. If I have to ask a girl something (at work, etc.), even if it is a simple one-sentence thing, I have to rehearse it over and over, and even then I screw it up when I actually get into the situation because my voice gets frozen or something, and then I replay what I said over and over again afterwards, picking apart the words and my tone of voice.

I wish I could just treat these interactions like they were no big deal, like everyone else seems to do. But what can I do? I've had a lifetime of zero experience so these behaviours could be reinforced in me. How are you supposed to reverse it? Interacting with females is my most troublesome social obstacle. If anyone has any suggestions, or similar experiences, or any evidence that girls are in fact of the same species as me, I would appreciate hearing it.

·
Banned
1,345 Posts