·
Registered
2,401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
die

·
Registered
1,181 Posts
I graduated in 07 and can hardly remember most of it, I remember what the place look like and how I sat there till I got my "fake" diploma and then walked back after it was all over to get the real diploma and then met my parents and went home, overall not as special as some people would have you believe.

As for women crying, well, I see it all the time, happened on the last day of middle school, when any pets die, watching someone come out of Twilight on opening night(went with my sister), not trying to be sexist but I can think of many situations where there is some girl out there who would cry for it, even if it isin't sad or great or anything.

·
Registered
433 Posts
It was miserable, but in a different way.

My last name has a long history of being mispronounced. It's Laux, but most people think it's "Lau" or "Law", when really it's pronounced "Locks".

At the graduation rehearsal, one of the teachers who was reading off all the names went through the names to make sure the pronunciations were correct. He mispronounces my last name (no surprise), and a lot of people shout "Locks!", which I was surprised that so many people in my class actually knew me. The teacher says "Yeah yeah, 'locks', whatever." That offended me, and I had a bad feeling of what was to come.

Graduation day, I drive over to the building myself. The building is actually a basketball arena for a major local university. I lined up near the podium, and the woman there tells me to smile. Yeah right, I knew what was coming. Of course, my last name gets mispronounced. The crowd corrected him, but he didn't bother, and it's obviously too late because it was captured on people's camcorders. I quickly walked over to get my diploma, shook the principal's hand, and walked off.