Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
775 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, newbie here. I'm 21 and a half and I've never had a job. I've applied for jobs before at malls, coffee shops and movie theaters two summers ago and never even got an interview. I've seen them hire high school kids over me. I sort of just gave up after that. Now I really need to get a job--I'd settle for any dumb job-- but I know it will be tougher to get one at my age with absolutely no experience and no confidence or social skills. I've made no attempts to look for a job this summer, I've barely even left my house. I've been feeling sooo depressed and frustrated and hopeless lately. I stopped taking a full course load at school after my first year and instead have been taking one or two bullsh*t classes at community college the past two years because, I figured, if I can't even get hired at a coffee shop or movie theater, I'm pretty sure I won't be able to get a real job with a lousy two-year degree. So what's the point of wasting my parents' money on school? My mom says I need to get any job just to boost my confidence and maybe give me some direction and more motivation to stay in school, which is totally true.

Has anybody here been able to get a job at my age with no previous experience?? What did you say if they asked you why you've never had a job before? I'd appreciate your advice.

·
Registered
1,144 Posts
You're 18+, which makes you valuable as a "closer" at various fast-food-type places. If they're hiring, all you really have to do is fill out the application correctly and you're golden :)

If your handwriting is bad, it might be better to get your mom to fill out the app... it worked for me, back in the day :)

As many of us here at SAS can attest, weak social skills can make coping with coworkers a challenge. But worry about that part later :)

-Ryan

·
Registered
50 Posts