Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I guess this could be described as a triumph of sorts.
I currently work as a barman which i guess is a pretty social job. The thing i've noticed is that whenever I am in a situation where I am expected to play out a particular role, my SA ceases to be too much of a problem.
It's like when I have an 'excuse' to be social I can do it no problem, and playing the role of a barman gives me that perfect excuse to make easy small talk with customers no problem.
Does anybody else know what I mean here?
Now if only I could force myself to do this in situations where I have no excuses. :roll

·
Registered
3,999 Posts
I guess this could be described as a triumph of sorts.
I currently work as a barman which i guess is a pretty social job. The thing i've noticed is that whenever I am in a situation where I am expected to play out a particular role, my SA ceases to be too much of a problem.
It's like when I have an 'excuse' to be social I can do it no problem, and playing the role of a barman gives me that perfect excuse to make easy small talk with customers no problem.
Does anybody else know what I mean here?
Now if only I could force myself to do this in situations where I have no excuses. :roll
I couldn't agree more! I had a real social job last year and I think it was good for me.

·
Banned
4,722 Posts
Yes, definitely! I find my SAD isn't nearly as bad when I'm talking to strangers at work who I know I'll never have to see again. Maybe it's that knowledge that there's no need to form any kind of real, lasting relationship with a customer that takes the pressure off.

·
Registered
18,888 Posts
If it's for work purposes, the "socializing" isn't so much a problem for me.