Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
3,292 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a deviantart account under the same name as Vincymon.

http://vincymon.deviantart.com/

These are just what I manage to draw in MS Paint though. In reality, I can draw much more detailed than this. I have even done portraits. I did one of my either of my parents, my brother.. and my first art teacher. Although these were all gifts.

However, try as I might I just can't think of a way to get my art out there to make some money. You see ( oxymoron ahead ) I am a science student, and marketting techniques have always eluded me. Like my grandfather, who despite being the first photographer in town, still couldn't figure out a way to make a fortune. Yet some of his friends, who were farmers, by pure luck, dug up gold and became RICH.

It feels so frustrating though. Its like I have this talent, and despite being 18, I have yet to find a practical use for it.

P.S. i have entered art competitions though. I didn't win, but at least I tried.

· unashamed perv
1,786 Posts
You need to work hard at getting your art out there. In my city (Glasgow) there are so many little exhibition spaces that pretty much anyone can exhibit in - you need to find similar venues in your area and go talk to them. If you have transport, consider going further afield. Pester the local press to try and get some coverage.

Independent shops may stock your work - particularly if you offer it on a sale-or-return basis. You need to know what you want to do - would you like to accpt comissions, or do you just want to draw what you like? If you're going to accept comissions, make sure you say so.

You should get yourself some quirky, memorable business cards printed. A friend of mine exploited a few of the retailers who were offering photo prints for free, and she now has a lot of flyers to advertise her jewellery!