Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1,049 Posts
I respect all viewpoints and I'm no expert but...sorry...nope.

Quite a lot of the idea that daydreaming causing social anxiety is based on false principles. The idea that there are certain types of people who are "introverts". This is the type of thinking behind personality tests, the idea that something that is constantly in flux can be accurately measured and assessed by answering a series of vague questions. Personality tests do often work the same way as cold reading works. The person doing the test says: "you tend to be more introverted" and, if that statement chimes with your understanding of yourself, you agree with the statement and then say: "wow, that test really knows me". I'm not saying that talking things over with a qualified mental health professional and doing tests in that environment is a waste of time. That's essential if you're in any doubt about your mental health. But pop psychology these days thrives on the notion that you can go online, answer a few vague questions about whether you occasionally don't like going out on Tuesday and, all of a sudden, you're an introvert.

We're a mixed, complicated bag of so many things constantly in a state of flux. We change and circumstance changes us. Entertaining Freud and his successors is a fun job but you could drive a truck through the plot holes in most of the thinking.