Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
302 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I appologise... I haven't been here for ages, but that's because I thought I was doing relatively alright in coping with my SA (since my last visit I started therapy but am no longer having it, but that's another story).

Today was a rediculously ****ING **** day for me! :cry

As background, I have been working in a law firm for 1 1/2 years as a junior assistant and just started working for another lawyer three weeks ago (my 'boss').

All was going well today until late this afternoon. I was about to go home when my boss asked me where I had put a couple of cheques for settlement (I work in conveyancing, and these cheques were for about $40,000 and $18,000). I told her I put them in the post, and she said "WHAT DID YOU DO THAT FOR? They're for settlement tomorrow! Don't you KNOW that you don't post cheques for settlement? WHEN did I tell you to post them? I didn't, did I? God, why would you do that!!" I knew then that I was in deep ****.

I thought that maybe by some miracle the letter with the cheques attached to it would still be in my outbox, but they weren't (and mail had already been collected 1/2 an hour ago), so I went to reception to follow my boss, and I caught her saying to the receptionist "Do you know what Erin just did? She posted our settlement cheques! How stupid can you be?!!". I started getting teary, but managed to hold back my tears after a few seconds (I was amazed, cause I cry at the drop of a hat when someone shouts at me, or on occasions like this). She said "I didn't even sign the letter, so why would you even think of sending it out?". Then I just walked away and went to sit at my desk to compose myself.

I thought to myself 'should I just leave, or should I say something before I go' and then I heard her say to herself "Oh Erin, I could just shout!".