Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I am new here.

I am a college student who has gone to one university for 1 1/2 years, did very poorly the first year, improved the last semester there, but not enough to stay in... went to two community colleges, excelled there, then took 3 years off from school-- worked jobs, then went back to school at the university I am currently at. I am technically a transfer student, but didn't have much to transfer in 2010 because of my poor grades. So far I am doing fairly well at my current school: 3.5 gpa in major classes (Philosophy), but squeaking by with a 2.1 in my general ed classes. I am pretty sure this is all due to general burnt out feelings about natural history, math, social sciences, the works. In all honesty, I am sick and tired of those classes and excel and love my chosen major classes.

Because I excel and love Philosophy/Poli Sci classes, and have set a high goal for myself of Law school, I really feel like I am losing at the "solid undergraduate record" that is highly looked upon by law schools across the country. I wish I was just done with those classes, but my motivation level is at a minimum here, and I feel really lazy with it, even though I know I am an A student.

With being burnt out with those basic classes and having a cumulative gpa of 2.4, I feel like I am still determined to get into a law school, but I am looking at the facts, and my record is NOT as solid I as want it to be. Advisors are definitely helping me, and I know that each semester I get good grades in will improve that gpa to my goal, a 3.1, if I work hard enough.