Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
I am 24 and I decided to join because I need guidance I guess. My former therapist said I have social anxiety disorder and some agoraphobia which has led me to be severely depressed. I graduated from college last May which almost didn't happen because my anxiety took over. After graduation I had to move back home with my parents and brothers.

For the first few months home I was not able to apply to jobs because I was too scared to. I stopped taking my medication (Prozac) because I was too scared to get a refill and now I don't have access to medication or therapy because of lack of funds and my lack of trying.

I have been applying to jobs for the last three months with no luck and I do absolutely nothing with my life but sleep. I am actually starting to hate the sunlight and I don't leave my room until everyone in my house is asleep. I don't really talk to anybody in my house.

I currently have no goals or aspirations, I am just existing.

·
Registered
196 Posts
Its good you are applying for jobs. It just takes one place to say "yes" and your life will change. Hang in there. Maybe set yourself a goal...even if its going outside for a 10 minute walk every day. I like being inside myself, but I get out with work.

·
Registered
154,234 Posts
Welcome, MindExpansion! :)

·
Registered
12 Posts
Welcome to SAS! I'm only 15 so I obviously can't give you any advice but I have been through and am still going through Depression and Social Anxiety so I can tell you that it gets better. I know that you may think that's bull**** but it's not. I was suicidal and now I'm usually okay. But you have to take the help you are given. You should take your medication if you need it. I hope things get better soon. If not, just know that they will eventually.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·