Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay.
OKAY.

So I'm new to my school :I and I'am sort of a 'unique' person for the students there since I have social anxiety. :< People mistake my anxiety and shyness for being rude since whenever they talk to me I take my time to answer, and they think I'm ignoring them since I avoid them in the eyes. :(

So there's this girl that I think really dislikes me (even if I didn't do anything to her like seriously.) I try to become friends with her but it seems that she really dislikes me for no reason. Because of her, I had this emotional depression, and have been isolated for a while, and having panic attacks or getting paranoid. It just makes me sad on how her and her group just looks at me with this bad stares.

It makes me feel different :< Like I don't belong at school. I tried talking to my mom about this but she doesn't understand. She keeps on telling me to be strong, but having this anxiety really doesn't help me. :( any tips?

·
Sea of clouds.
223 Posts
I don't feel good that this hasn't been responded to, so I'll give it a shot.

I think sometimes we think of others' opinions as objective, or representing "complete truth". I don't know the situation, but it's possible that this girl is just a total [redacted]. Some people are like that. But by focusing only on her you could be missing out on the other people out there that will like and appreciate you and won't "dislike you for no reason".

I imagine it is rather frustrating. I've been in a similar situation before. Try to remember that this girl doesn't determine your self-worth. Whatever her opinions are are a product of her own life experiences and prejudices... not right, not wrong, just different.

·
&#915;&#932;&#918;&#924;
3,732 Posts
Oops, I wanted to respond to this one but I forgot (or I had hit the 50 post limit). I quote so that he sees the answers.