Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone :),
I am a clinical psychologist and researcher at Macquarie University. I think it's great that so many of you are posting on this forum and supporting each other.

Within the Centre for Emotional Health at Macquarie University (Sydney) we have a research clinic where we are trying to learn more about social anxiety, and how best to help people who experience it. Many of you have spoken openly (and bravely!) about the loneliness you experience, and the sense that life is passing you by. One of the goals of our clinic is to develop treatment programs to help people develop practical skills and strategies to cope with their anxiety, so they are able to get out and do the things they want to do with their life. We offer both individual and group treatments, which our clients find really beneficial as they have the opportunity to meet other people with similar concerns, and practice the skills with each other while they are learning them.

Our treatments are based on cognitive behavioural therapy, and so far our results have been very promising! Our research shows us that after treatment, people experience less symptoms of social anxiety (e.g. panicky feelings, shaking, blushing, sweating, mind blanks, dwelling on negative thoughts), and have been able to make significant improvements to their quality of life (things like finding a new job, getting back to study, or joining a sporting or social group). Our clients often report feeling more self confident and happier in their own skin.