Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys!

I'm a 33-year-old who doesn't feel like she belongs in the 30+ crowd just yet, "unfortunately" I also happen to be a very deep thinker who doesn't really enjoy smalltalk and all the social/sociable discussions that are meant to ease and grease new encounters. I am not American, have consistently had the same problem in my previous culture; people everywhere want "easy people" to talk with, OR they end up vomiting their entire life or issues at me as though I'm a therapist (which I am not although most people who get to know me say I easily could have been), without even the courtesy of listening to me in return...

I feel I just don't know how "socializing" is supposed to work, or it's done along lines that make NO SENSE to me. I've always been like this but have recently started feeling anxious about the prospect of spending my later years alone, because.... I just don't know how to find people like me! Am really bad at it.

As a random example, if I joined a bookclub, I would be dissatisfied with how shallow most people's interpretation of most books are, and too shy to suggest mine because it's "too deep" for most people and they'd tell me to "not take everything so seriously", OR they feel overwhelmed by my perspective and end up taking it personally; I have an apparent tendency to make people feel small and injure their insecurity which I can freely admit to. :(