Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. This is so hard for me.. Just posting this message is giving me heart palpitations. :afr

I'm a 19 year old girl and have been "shy" with varying degrees throughout my whole life. My anxiety really started to get bad during my junior year of high school. A teacher would ask me a question and I would start trembling and quietly say "I don't know.." just so I wouldn't possibly give the wrong answer and have someone think bad of me (especially in math class). I wouldn't even be able to write a straight line afterwards, I was trembling so much! I would skip school and somehow I wormed my way around speeches and mock interviews. I still don't know how I got through it..
I graduated high school and was too nervous to apply to any "real" colleges so I went to community college for a semester. It was while I was going there that my anxiety became crippling. I remember a time that I was asked what I was doing for a project by a teacher and I couldn't get the words out. My heart was racing so fast and my face was red. I couldn't even think and it felt like time had froze. I would constantly feel nauseous and terrified before going to class, from the first one all the way to the very last class. It was too much for me and I decided to not go another semester.