Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,
I don't have any kind of diagnosis. I'm a --get this -- psychology professor by trade (not the counseling side of psychology, more the research/cognition side of psychology). I'd say my feet are planted pretty firmly on the ground most of the time but when it comes to interactions with other people, sigh...

Good interactions make me feel like I'm on top of the world. Bad interactions-- I will stress about those for weeks. I think about what I should have said. I think about what I did say. I re-read e-mails and text messages. I revisit my own feelings about the interaction.

I've had issues facing conflict with others since I was a little girl. If my parents caught me doing something bad, I would shake. As I got older, I started to notice that I couldn't handle being around people I had conflict with -- whether it was an ex-boyfriend, ex-friend, or someone I simply didn't like. It increases my heart rate and makes me weak. My finger muscles stop working. I -- again -- stress for weeks.

I'm actually okay talking in front of my classes. Other crowds, not so much. I worry I won't be able to give presentations to groups of my peers because of anxiety, or that my anxiety will get so much worse that I eventually won't be able to teach my classes.