Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm a High School student, and I got an award for getting honor's this year at my school. I'm one of about 200 others students that got it, so it's really not that big a deal.

Anyway, for the grade twelves, we have to attend a ceremony. There are about 60 of us. What we have to do is wait till they call our name, walk up onto the stage, and accept our certificate. We have to shake the hands of about three people. As well, the announcer will be LISTING OUR ACHIEVEMENTS, AND OUR PLANS FOR THE FUTURE. Oh my god, I'm so scared.

For one thing, I'm terrified they'll say something about me that sounds stupid. I'm also scared they'll list like one thing and then I'll just be there awkwardly up on that stage while I get my certificate. Everyone will be watching me. I'm so afraid that I'll trip, or that they'll say things about me, or that they'll laugh about me. What if I stumble, or turn red, and they're all watching me? I don't know how to deal with this. It isn't a needless panic. A few years ago in my grade nine graduation, I had to get up on the stage for whatever reason and I fainted. I was TERRIFIED.

I'm so scared. And I HAVE to go to this. I want to just crawl under my bed and hide there forever. This is ridiculous! I'm in high school, and I'm afraid of things like this! How can I be like this? Why me? I hate this. I want to just live my life, but my SAD blocks everything. I have no friends, no people to hang out with, because I am afraid of them all. What do I do? What if I faint? Is there anything I can do to deal with this? I'm terrified, I absolutely can't get this out of my mind. Thinking about it scares me more than anything. I don't want them to see me all go up there. What do I do?

·
Registered
3,836 Posts