Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

I am a teacher. Should I require shy kids to speak/participate in class?

• Yes

Votes: 9 42.9%
  • No

Votes: 12 57.1%
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
485 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've always hated introducing myself in front of a class, giving speeches, etc... I'm sure many of you guys can relate

The thing is, the roles have now switched and I work as a teacher doing "interview prep."

The point of this class is to help kids be better speakers/get to know themselves better and it is overall very fun and rewarding. Most kids are hesitant to speak at first, but, like kids without SA, eventually come out confidently.

There are a couple of kids, however, that seem really nervous and afraid all of the time and seem shy; this brings me to my question.

Should I try to force them to speak to "get them to come out of their shells" or should I treat them differently from the rest of the group? I at once know how they are feeling from personal experience and also know that avoidance perpetuates social anxiety. Thoughts?

Thank you for reading.

·
Beasting
118 Posts
Yes. As much as I hated speaking in class as a kid, it really helps them conform the the harsh realities of society, and I don't think sheltering them is helping them. Just don't make them do anything to tough for an SA person.

Unless they are like super super super shy, in that case you could make an exception.

·
HeavyDirtySøul
5,969 Posts
I think you should really encourage them and try hard to get them to speak, but dont force them. Be understanding instead of demanding. But I guess at the same time, other kids wouldnt think its fair if you set them apart. Thats a hard call.

·
Registered
779 Posts