Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Celexa has helped me immensely. It's not a cure by any means, but I notice myself doing things I've never done before. Last night I went to a bar and played poker with about 20 people I didnt know. I was not the life of the party or anything, and I actually didnt say much while I was there, but just the fact that I could go and not be a total wreck the whole time was amazing. I had no alcohol either. Other things I've noticed, situations at work like meetings, and smalltalk with coworkers. I used to avoid these things like the plague. Now I'm at a point where I dont seek them out, but I'm not bothered if they happen either. Just kind of rolls off me. The first few weeks were awful. I felt like a zombie. Couldnt sleep or eat. And the symptoms all came back when I went up in dosage from 20mg, to 40mg. But after about 4-6 weeks, things start to feel normal again, accept you notice small differences in yourself. SSRI's have been lifechanging for me.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Zoloft helped me a lot when I had SA really badly. I used to cry randomly and obsess over the things I'd said to people, the zoloft basically put an end to that so daily life was a lot more manageable. I'm still on it now but am about to start tapering off it to see if I can cope without it.

Edit: I will comment that Lexapro did sweet FA for me. It really varies from person to person.

·
Registered
2,403 Posts
If you have generalized SA and never tried an SSRI then feel free to do so. They are considered first line treatment. Don't let you scare from "bad reports". People on the internet will always much more likely write about things that didn't work for them instead of writing "the thing helped me".

·
Banned
38,431 Posts
People on the internet will always much more likely write about things that didn't work for them instead of writing "the thing helped me".