Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. What you're about to read might sound unbelievable, but it's true. This is my first post, and actually the first time I've been part of any online forum. If I don't use the correct computerese, please forgive me. I am on here to try to offer people some tried-and-true relief from their suffering, but I may need some help along the way.

Maybe I should say a little about myself as a means of explanation. I had severe and undiagnosed generalized anxiety disorder (mainly agoraphobia) for almost 15 years. In addition to anxiety disorder, I have been through really bad alcoholism and have thus far lived to tell the tale.

From 2004-2009, I taught meditation as a volunteer in the Texas correctional system, and since 2009 have been teaching publicly as well as in drug & alcohol recovery centers. I am also a certified Kundalini Yoga instructor, which is how I came to know of a truly wonderful yoga meditation which will help people immensely in dealing with anxiety, primarily as a long-term practice (the instructions for this meditation say it can be used effectively as an occasional stress reliever, but for this forum it seems that most people could benefit the most through making it a regular - and quite peaceful - part of their everyday routine). I can speak from personal experience that this meditation (called the "Tranquil Mind Meditation") does perfectly what it promises to do. Obviously, each practitioner will be the judge.