Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How would this be for a career choice? I'm thinking of going back to school for a web design certificate or some other similar graphic design curriculum.

From what I can tell, it seems like most of your time would be spent staring at a computer instead of dealing with people, which I certainly like.

Any idea on how hard it is to get a job in this field?

·
Registered
2,401 Posts
I'm actually pursuing a BFA in Graphic Design-I have about 2-3 years before I earn it

As for getting a job as a graphic designer, I don't necessarily think that it'd be difficult to get a job in graphic design cuz it's everywhere from the web, to logos, to package design for foods or products, to magazine layout, newspapers

But as for getting the type of job you want, the type of projects you want to be doing that might be harder, I don't know for sure though cuz I haven't done the rigorous stuff yet, but for example, doing layout/graphic design for Forbes Magazine will be different than doing the package/logo design/etc for a makeup company, and so on and so forth

·
SAS Member
939 Posts
I have an associates degree in a related field, and my focus is designing web pages and working with graphics for the advertising field. Alas, I live in a small town and I currently work at a college part time. But web/graphic design can go many ways, like with magazines and simply just advertising.

·
Registered
290 Posts
yes I have a background and degree in graphic design, and you can work it so you mostly work with the computer. There is still some people interaction, depending on the type of job. It is a very competitive field. There are usually many applicants for any job.

I have done only design for print. I just started a web design class so I can learn that, which should give me more opportunity.