Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I am 37. Married to a wonderful man for 8 years and have a 16 year old stepdaughter. I have felt different my entire life. I always thought that everyone worried as much as I did - about everything! I have overcome a LOT of my fears, but I am currently having a hard time at work. I am a special education teacher who is afraid of the parents of the students I work with. I am trying to figure out why I have panic attacks while trying to do my paperwork. I stutter, stammer, and turn bright red when I try to talk to them. Makes me feel so stupid and ashamed. I have an appointment in a week to talk to my Dr. about my anxiety. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
9,274 Posts
Hi AG. Welcome to

·
Registered
3 Posts
Hi

Hi

I'm guessing you have a lack of confidence about your work(I'm also guessing you are a super teacher) and are afraid to be second guessed by the parents.

Some ideas
1.Manage the expectations of the parents. Make sure they are realistic.
2.Know something concrete and positive about each student and lead with it when you meet each parent
3.Explain your approach to all the students so the parents know your work method and how diligent you are.
4.Make a list of all the possible imaginary generic questions parents may have and prepare 'stock' responses.

I was a chess teacher before and dealt with many anxious chess parents. Most just want to know you're doing your best and their kid is not being ignored or lost in the shuffle. I had a stockpile of chess stories about kids and their progress, how the parents could help at home etc. I also cautioned them about indirectly pressuring their kids with 'too-much-parenting'. This seemed to keep them happy.

Hope this helps.

Mike

·
Registered
389 Posts