Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
High school affected my terribly and believe it or not I still have nightmares about it at least twice a week even though its been ten years since I graduated. BTW, I went to a military school 1,500 miles away from home. So, I was there 24/7. Because of my social anxiety, I would tend to freeze and had poor concentration ability. In addition, I was so self-conscious that I very rarely talked. My peers came up with the easiest explanation for this behavior and actually believed that I must be mildly retarded. Well, the "stupid" label stuck for the entire four years I spent there. I'm sure you can imagine what havoc it wreaked on my self-esteem.

The point is, it is so difficult for people to understand what SAD is because it has virtually no play time on the media. We hear about ADHD, Depression, Generalized Anxiety, Bipolar, Schizophrenia, Autism. These are all generally accepted as real disorders by our society. But, "Social Anxiety Disorder? What!?! C'mon, everyone gets anxious when they meet new people. That's just a cop out for not getting out there and meeting new challenges. Just relax and come out of your shell. We won't bite". This is what I hear and sense that society, by and large, responds SAD (if they even heard of it to begin with). It is an excuse for being weak rather than a real disorder. This is a huge reason why having this disorder is so frustrating because it is so easy to feel alone. Thank God for websites like this because before I found this forum, I really thought I was special (or specially f***ed up). I thought I was an experiment by God to see what would happen if He just completely screwed up a guy in a way that he could never relate to anyone and no one would could empathize with him because he was impossible to understand.

·
PreciousGleamingMcNugget
5,593 Posts