Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!

I'm a freshman who lives on campus and I'll be heading back to college in a week. I'm having major anxiety and panic attacks about going back to school. I really don't have any friends there. I just switched roommates because my old roommate liked my "friend" better than me. It wasnt a good fit for me anyways because she always used to make fun of me b/c I have no friends. I know my new roommate from HS but we dont hang out much cuz were really different. I just feel so lonely all the time. I eat by myself and sit in my room and watch TV when I get back from classes. I landed the lead role in a play in my local theater company so hopefully I'll make friends there, even though they're all 25 or older. I told my mom I want to transfer but I'm already locked in for the semester. Plus I hate my major. I really wanna be a theater major but my mom wont let me. Please help. I'm so scared about going back. I just wanna stay home :(

·
Banned
26 Posts
I feel for you. I've gone years without any friends in college, and I've had a number of house mates I didn't like. What's your current major? Why not double major?

·
Registered
136 Posts
Can you tell your mom about how you feel? I studied Medicine when I was 18 and had to live by myself and it simply didn't work. After a couple of months of torture I just broke and went to a severe depression that took me 1.5 years to overcome.

Please take care of yourself, if you feel like this is too much, don't try to keep on going because you'll probably end up like a mental wreck. However, if you make the choice and do something you really like, you probably go to school with a better feeling and that'll make it easier to make friends. Take care!

·
Registered
64 Posts