Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Freshman Disorientation: Muddling through my undergraduate years.

By: Shane Carpenter

This is my confession of 5 years post adolescent confusion. Think of it as a "college application essay" of sorts. But I always lied when I wrote those. I want some helpful incite on the situation I am in as a student. I would be especially interested in hearing from anyone who has already graduated from the initial 4-5 year drag of being an undergraduate.

For the past 4-5 years, I have made poor use of my time as a student. I graduated in 2004, and since then have avoided all the internal dilemas with making smart life decisions.

Enter phase I. 2004-2005

I started out at a four school which I hated. I started at Eastern Nazarene college, a 4-year christian college in Quincy, MA. There are not many real, bible-belt like christian colleges in New England, so I knew it was a poor fit for me. I was never very religious. I only applied there to appease my Dad, who was an alumini. It was my "safety" school, and I only diluted my self into thinking I would "manage" attending there, but never "enjoy" being a student. And I never did. This is when I first developed the tendency of avoiding social contact and being honest to myself. I became very withdrawn and went through phases of depression, never seeking help of any kind. I left that college as a freshman with few credits and valuable life experiences.

Enter phase II. 2006-2007

I went back home to attend a community college part time. I never flunked out of my previous school, but I wanted to just make it seem like I was "doing something". I took easy classes a few days a week. I avoided people, opportunities and any situation where I thought I would be judged. and again left with rather few credits than I should have and went to another four year school.