Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
I worked at Starbucks for a long time, but my SA only really started to present towards the end. After that I had a job as a bartender at a golf club. That didn't was very long.
I think you can really do any job so long as you shoulder down and get through the first part. After you become comfortable and your brain acknowledges that it's non-threatening, you'll loosen up I think. Then you'll kind have the home court advantage. As it stands it's just a theory, as I can't get past the submitting resume/job interview part.

·
Registered
1,798 Posts
I've worked in busy stores helping people and working the register. I also worked front desk at a busy hotel for a while. Although I still get anxious sometimes, I actually like these kinds of jobs, now that Paxil has knocked out the extreme anxiety/panic attacks.

·
Banned
768 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I have very sever social anxiety, and I worked as a salesman. Quota and everything. :)

What job are you thinking of applying for?
Not sure. I'm looking for something to do for a year or less until the economy comes back. I'm an out of work architect at the moment. I have to deal with clients in this field regularly, but not the general public.

To me, the general public seems scarier for some reason, depending on the job.

I've been depressed over my situation, but I'm trying to see a silver lining in this. Perhaps this is an opportunity in my life to try a job that requires me to be even more outgoing. Which I know would be a priceless experience, even though I won't get paid what I'm used to.

I know rental car companies will take people with a bachelors in any field, but the thought of dealing with the general public so much is intimidating to say the least.

I guess that's why I posted, I'm hoping there are some people around here who have faced their fears and made it work.

·
Registered
3,626 Posts