Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, everyone! I'd like to introduce myself. I'm a 27-year-old musician and writing major that has suffered from acute social anxiety disorder since I was a small child. This is my first time joining an online forum like this. I'm here to share my own experiences and also to listen to anyone who wants to talk about their problems or successes. I want to converse with people who understand what it's like to have social anxiety disorder and learn from it. I think a website like this is great resource, and I feel it can be very therapeutic to have a place to discuss things you normally wouldn't talk about.

Let me just start off by giving you a snapshot of my background. I'm sure it's a story that you're all very familiar with. I look forward to learning a lot from this forum, gaining some new perspectives, and hopefully helping some people along the way, as well.

**** I have had debilitating and crippling SAD and GAD since grade school, now continuing on through early adulthood. I recently "self-diagnosed" myself with Avoidant Personality Disorder (AvPD) after researching my symptoms and realizing that I fit the classic profile to a tee.

I was first diagnosed with SAD during High School and was treated with a combination of CBT, Zoloft, and finally
Effexor -- all to no avail. I stopped treatment altogether when I entered college, which subsequently intensified my AvPD and general aversion to almost all social situations. Despite the fact that I was an anxious, depressed wreck through college, I somehow managed to graduate with good grades and obtain my B.A. in Writing. Incidentally, this degree has not enabled me to find long-term employment; I blame this partly on my continued occupational social anxiety and partly on the unseen uelessness of an English degree (for me anyway).:doh