Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Even though, I am 21 years old...I still feel like and seem to be stuck in this bubble that I was in when I was 16 years old. I'm not immature by any means...I can carry on an intelligent conversation with anyone. When my anxiety got really bad which was at 16-17 years old....I pretty much didn't socialize or anything and was pretty much invisible at school. So I wasn't able to experience a lot of things that people my age have got to experience because the last 5 years of my life have been pretty much taken over by my anxiety. I feel like I'm behind those who are my age. People who I graduated with are in their last year of college, already have children, or are married/ engaged, etc. I haven't experienced any of that and I've spent a large majority of my life since high school too scared to leave the house. So in a way, I feel like a 16 year old who is trapped in a 21 years old body because in a lot of ways I still haven't experienced a lot of thngs that most people get to experience while they are in high school. Anybody else feel that way?

·
slave
4,382 Posts
I can totally relate to this. I myself never even went to high school and spent my adolescence totally isolated from the world. It wasn't until this year (2011) that I got pushed back into the world by starting college and now I often feel awkward and embarrassed when I see people 2-3 years younger than me with more academic/real world experience than me.

·
Registered
1,053 Posts
I feel exactly that way. It doesn't quite seem real that people who I went to school with now have kids. I haven't done enough, compiled enough memories, to convince myself of the fact that I'm 21. I'm also a couple of years behind where I should be at college which makes me feel even worse.