Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Failure

I'm coming to terms that I might be failing college. Not exactly sure what to do. I am attending Penn State, but the courses are completely online. Even then, I get so anxious before I have to log in. I am suppose to do a group project, but I don't contribute that much.

It's almost as if I'm subconsciously TRY to fail. It's hard to explain. I was doing kinda well in the beginning, but now I'm just mentally dropping out. I don't want to, though.

EVERY TIME I think of school, my anxieties gets worse. It's unbelievable. I wish I don't have this affliction.

In 9th grade, I barely went to school so I failed most of my classes. I'm not sure what my GPA was, but it did significantly lowered my class rank. If not for that year, I would've been in the top 10 of my entire school because I had a 4.0 in my senior year. I had a 3.6 GPA when I graduated.

Seems like the cycle is starting again, except this is COLLEGE and not HIGH SCHOOL.

I contacted a psychologist via email but she hasn't responded. I thought about taking Xanax, but I'm not sure how to get them.

My first semester of college, I commuted to a different university. I cried literally for 2 days because I had to take the bus. I never took the bus by myself and I CRIED... So my mom drove me. 1 hour back and forth... I had to withdraw. I feel like such a baby. I'm so a shamed of myself.

Transferred to Penn State and now the problem still exist. I fear of failure, but ironically, this fear is causing the failure. I don't even know what I'm so afraid of, why I'm so anxious when I'm protected behind this computer. All I know is my anxieties get so bad when even the thought of school comes to mind.