Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been working at this job for 6 years now, I wouldn't say that I'm happy there but I guess I would say comfortable. A little while ago my boss approached me to find out exactly how long (we'll call him John) has been working there, and I told him it was 3 months and 1 week (probationary period is 3 months). He then tells me that John was just in his office and he thinks he might have some "anxiety issues" because he lost his cool a little bit during their conversation, he then makes a comment like "he should be on meds or something". He then made a comment about how it's a shame we only find these things out AFTER the probationary period is over, so it's not like we can fire him now.

Less than a month later John ended up quitting his job after "losing his cool" a couple more times (I don't know the exact details of these incidents but from what I can gather he seems to have raised his voice a couple times).

Now that he's gone everyone seems to be talking about him like he was some sort of nutcase off his meds and they all keep making jokes about his "anxiety problems" in front of me.

Now, I rarely worked with John but before all this started happening everyone had nothing but good things to say about him and got along with him great, and the few times I have worked with him I thought he was a good worker. But like I said, I don't know the exact details of these "incidents" so it's all a little confusing.