Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Nyctophiliac
327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I didn't see a thread about eating disorders on the recent threads, so I thought I might put one here as someone who has suffered from one for years. I guess this is a place where you can tell your story without being harshly judged, so I'll start with mine.

My eating problems started when I was fifteen. My father was a drunk and extremely physically abusive. I was a sophomore in high school, had JUST moved to America and was very stressed about going to an American school and meeting people. Around the second week of sophomore year the abuse began to reach its peak, and I felt there was no way to handle the negativity that consumed my life, so I started eating.
As odd as it is, I never gained weight from it. I guess as a fifteen-year-old kid my metabolism wasn't screwed up and was relatively normal. After finally beginning to fear being overweight, I stuck my finger down my throat and love ensued.
My eating disorder became an obsession that controlled my life. I would do it at school. I would come home and it would happen there too. I kept it a secret for a long time. There were some days when I would throw up twenty times, easily.
My secret was busted when my little sister Maeja walked in on me with my fingers down my throat. I spent hours begging her not to tell our parents. Of course she did anyway.
Recovery was painful and long. I still have urges to do it, but can easily fight them off, which I am proud of. I have permanent damage to my teeth, though luckily the damage is not as bad as it could have been as I brushed them constantly and still do. I have scars on my knuckles from where my teeth would tear into them when I made myself throw up.