Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
USC GAMECOCK
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just curious how many others out there work a job where their is a level of social anxiety is around. I work for Costco a major retailer and I have to dose on klnopin everyday just to walk in the door and work around several people. Is it worth it? I know I have to have a job but just curious to what else I can do.

·
Banned
118 Posts
Yeah, huge level at my job (veterinary clinic). Going up front and doing reception for the first time felt like someone might as well have asked me to do stand up comedy for 1000 people. My boss could clearly see my nerves but she obviously thought it was because I'm a newbie student. She said pretend like you know what you're doing even if you have no clue, take a moment if you feel overwhelmed, and assume everyone is friendly and kind when they walk in the door.

·
HaloOfDarkness
608 Posts
No, not really, it just depends on what kind of day it is. I get high anxiety when new people come around or if there is alot of people on the clock and everybody's running around everywhere bumping into eachother to get **** done but for the most part I feel pretty comfortable going to work. It took me a long time to get to know everybody and half of them I still don't know but I know their personalities well enough. Some of them are really mean and ignorant. I can honestly tell you that I am ridiculed on a daily basis. I've been called names and made fun, people talk about me behind my back. I came in already empty hearted and walked out with a pretty strong backbone. Here I am almost a year later still working the same job with all the same rude ignorant people. Haven't made one friend and there are times when I wish I had never started working there but I'm sure there are reasons why I was meant to be there.

·
Registered
70 Posts