Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Out there...
5,124 Posts
I started living by myself when I was your age, 18. I had family issues, so as soon as I graduated high school, I had to bolt. My half-sister took me in for a while, but then our lifestyles clashed and I was kind of forced out. With no one that wanted to take me in, my dad found me a place for myself. That is how I got started, so in a way I lucked out.

I just moved a few months back to nearby Jesey from New York (I guess you could call that out of state? haha). I'm finally starting to be on my way up. I just wish I could progress faster.

So yeah, DO IT. Better to take the risk and try, even if it doesn't ultimately work out. Trust me, I think you'll be glad that you at least made the attempt.

·
Registered
22 Posts
I've always sort of thought that moving to a different state would get the ball rolling for me. Here, at my parents house, I'm in my comfort zone and I absolutely do not want to leave it..so I don't.

BUT! If I moved, and didn't have the amount of enabling support that I do here, I wouldn't have a choice but to... live!... Right?

I've been thinking of moving in with my long-distance boyfriend in another state. He's looking for an apartment based on his salary alone, and I'm sure my parents would help support me for a limited time so I could find a job.

I've always been too scared to do ANYTHING in my area, and I think part of that is because... I know people here. If I make a devastatingly huge mistake here, someone I know might find out or witness it!

I'll have a hard time finding work, as I never went to high school and I STILL haven't gotten my GED (too scared to go to the college here, but I know I'll have to get it soon), and I'm scared ****less of how often I'm going to have to see his family, but...

TL;DR: Has anyone moved out of state/city, despite having crippling social anxiety, and done better? Is a fresh new start helpful or just terrifying?