Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Fitting In Here & There
808 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Does anyone know a good website that will help me design my own website and have my own domain name? And is cheap? And doesn't involve HTML? Thank you very much! :D

·
MayTheForceBeWithYou
19,559 Posts
1 go to godaddy.com get your domain name, and web hosting
i got my domain name for 1.99

2 yes you might need to learn HTML. there are lots of free sources online to know the basic of html.

you could go get wordpress templetes which would allow you to view all sorts of things for your website.

if you need anymore help let me know.
ive been designing website since 1995. :)

·
Registered
416 Posts
Pam,

There might be websites out there that takes you step by step. Just google for it.

Basically what you need to do is this.

1. Buy a domain (costs around $10 a year)
A popular place to buy is godaddy.com
avoid yahoo.com

2. Rent some space on the internet for your webpage (also known as webhosting) (costs around $10 a month)
A good place to buy space is hostgator.com

3. Build the website.
If you are building a small website you dont need to know html,asp,php,jsp or any of those.
These days people build small websites using CMS technique (component management system)
Two popular CMS people are drupal.com and joomla.com (they are both free).

Hope that helps.

I do website design (though not my primary occupation).

regards,
Jer

·
insert witty comment here
6,235 Posts
You could use MS Publisher to do the site. It's most likely on your computer as part of the MS package. It has lots of templates and you can change the colours and just about everything else too. No need to write code at all.

·
Registered
784 Posts
A few years ago I knew a musician who wanted to set up his own website. He ended up going with Network Solutions and bought one of their packages where they designed his website layout. A little pricey, but it worked well for him.

·