Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there.

I'm a visual artist, and a couple of months ago, I was on a forum, wherein a person put up some of their amateur pencil comics. They weren't so great, and a guy came in and absolutely tore into her, telling this 13-year-old to give up art, etc. etc. Noting something definitely amiss, I said to the artist, "Hey, don't worry, if you work at it a lot, you can definitely improve." To prove such, I posted the first sketch I ever did with one I did a couple months ago (three years later than the first sketch), which I thought was a decent amount of progress. I also lambasted the critic a bit over his ridiculous discouragement of another potential artist.

Unsurprisingly, the critic then set his sights on me, saying "if that's all you've improved in 3 years, that's a tragedy." Yadda yadda, etc. etc. He even had the nerve to check all my stats and traffic on my art sites, which admittedly are a bit low, to rub that in my face; as though that were some sort of clear indicator of my artistry. I was given the same treatment: you should quit art, go find your calling, etc.

This whole thing was months ago. I have no idea why, but some part of the argument between us has been biting at me, and I've been turning the thing over and over in my mind, wondering if there's some sort of thing I'm missing, or some piece of my understanding that I'm truly naive about, and should be taking his comments into consideration. I'd like to simply say, "Oh, this guy was an *******. I'll just completely ignore him." but my open-minded brain tells me, "You can't just ignore people haphazardly; you could be losing a huge amount of perspective."