Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey SAS, I'm currently a 3rd year university student planning to graduate early at the end of this year with a B.A. in Global Studies.

So I submitted a paper abstract in order to present at an upcoming conference, and I found out it got accepted today. There was a sense of relief and brief joy at having gotten chosen, followed by a visceral fear of having to speak in front of who knows how many people. The reason I entered was because I plan to have this paper published and the conference would really help with connections, feedback, etc. (Both of which, incidentally, heighten my anxiety and have sent me into panic overdrive as of right freaking now).

Among the presentations I have given, some have gone well and some have tanked, literally blanking on a topic that I know well, and this is with plenty of practice. There is a fear of failure, and of not being able to answer challenging questions thrown at me from some direction I did not expect. As for the networking aspect, I know this would help further my goal, but with my fear of social interaction I fear instead of gaining a greater social network all I will do is repel others. Not to mention, I am not as articulate and eloquent in person as I am on paper.

I have never travelled alone before, and now I must fly out to the East Coast on my own with no idea how to get there and back and hoping to just somehow figure it out. I feel very lost.

I know this is lengthy, thanks to those who did read the entire thing.

Panicking now. I am not on any medication.

·
Registered
1,212 Posts